Please signup first

Web Rumors



“An authoritative new wave voice not heard in Australian music since Do Re Mi.” Bob Gordon (Around the Sound)

West Australian songwriter/producer Em Burrows (above front right) continues to refine her craft and blur all other lines with Web Rumors; a new wave style pop act that passes through disco by way of Sade and Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

Taking influence from the electronic, pop, and psych music of the late 70s and early 80s, Web Rumors is the culmination of Burrows’ musical output to date and follows on from her debut solo LP ‘Invisible Seams’ (2018), consolidating a trademark sound for her as a recording artist. Incorporating sweeping analogue synths, reverb-soaked saxophone, and electronic percussion, she fashions tightly spun disco arrangements and an unforgettable topline in ‘Sinner (For Your Love)’ and plays with lofi komische synth sounds and self-aware liberalisms in ‘Downtown Denizen’ her commanding contralto sitting at the sonic centre of both. Both singles (taken from the forthcoming Web Rumors debut LP) have received nationwide airplay and been featured on 2SER, RTRFM, Ripe, Tone Deaf, Around the Sound, and Something You Said.

Web Rumors is Burrows’ recording project (she writes, arranges, and produces the songs) but on stage she plays alongside a band of established Perth musicians (above); Maddy Blue (Heathcote Blue/Gap Year), Lois Allen, Kerry Fletcher (The Lunettes), Ben Santostefano (Sh y Panther), and Claire Keet (Phoebus Cartel). The band’s performances of note have included Laneway Festival Fremantle (2019), Perth Festival (2019), and In the Pines (2018).

Web Rumors’ debut LP ‘Audio Video Disco’ will be released through Group Therapy Records on August 26, 2019, and available to purchase on cassette and vinyl through Bandcamp.